English indices of deprivation 2019

What are the Indices of Deprivation (IoD)?

The Indices of Deprivation are a unique measure of relative deprivation at a small local area level (Lower-layer Super Output Areas) across England. The Indices of Deprivation 2019 (IoD2019) is the most recent release. The Indices provide a set of relative measures of deprivation for small across England, based on seven different domains, or facets, of deprivation:

• Income Deprivation
• Employment Deprivation
• Education, Skills and Training Deprivation
• Health Deprivation and Disability
• Crime
• Barriers to Housing and Services
• Living Environment Deprivation

Deprivation is measured in a broad way to encompass a wide range of aspects of an individual’s living conditions. Each of the domains above are constructed from a basket of different data datasets, or indicators. As far as is possible, each indicator is based on data from the most recent time point available. For the Income Deprivation domain and the Employment Deprivation domain in the IoD2019, the data relates to the tax year 2015/16. Combining information from the seven domains produces an overall relative measure of deprivation, the Index of Multiple Deprivation (IMD)

In addition to the seven domain-level indices above, there are two supplementary indices: the Income Deprivation Affecting Children Index (IDACI) and the Income Deprivation Affecting Older People Index (IDAOPI). These are created as subsets from the Income Deprivation domain.

A range of summary measures are available for higher-level geographies including local authority districts and upper tier local authorities, local enterprise partnerships, and clinical commissioning groups. These are based on the geographic boundaries for these areas at the time of publication.
The IMD2019, domain indices and the supplementary indices, together with the higher area summaries, are collectively referred to as the IoD2019.

See our map by Local Authority (Lower Tier) HERE

And by Lower layer Super Output Area HERE